Academic Calendar

Make sure to note these key dates before you begin your semester. Please note that UW Colleges Online runs ten academic sessions throughout the calendar year in three, seven, eight, or sixteen week terms. Pay close attention to the dates that apply to your course(s). For the full catalog of course options, visit Courses.

Spring 2017 Semester

Spring 2017 (16 weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Sunday, January 22, 2017
Classes Monday, January 23, 2017 Monday, May 22, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Friday, February 3, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, February 4, 2017 Friday, April 7, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Friday, February 3, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Sunday, January 15, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, January 16, 2017 Sunday, January 22, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Monday, January 23, 2017 Friday, February 3, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, February 4, 2017 Friday, February 17, 2017

Download the Spring 2017 (16 weeks) ICS File

Spring 2017 (8 weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Sunday, January 22, 2017
Classes Monday, January 23, 2017 Friday, March 17, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Friday, January 27, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, January 28, 2017 Friday, February 24, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Friday, February 3, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Sunday, January 15, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, January 16, 2017 Sunday, January 22, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Monday, January 23, 2017 Friday, January 27, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, January 28, 2017 Friday, February 3, 2017
25% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, February 4, 2017 Friday, February 10, 2017

Download the Spring 2017 (8 weeks) ICS File

Spring 2017 (7 weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Sunday, March 19, 2017
Classes Monday, March 20, 2017 Friday, May 12, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Friday, March 24, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, March 25, 2017 Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Friday, February 3, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Sunday, March 12, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, March 13, 2017 Sunday, March 19, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Monday, March 20, 2017 Friday, March 24, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, March 25, 2017 Friday, March 31, 2017

Download the Spring 2017 (7 weeks) ICS File

Spring 2017 (10 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Sunday, February 26, 2017
Classes Monday, February 27, 2017 Friday, May 12, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Friday, March 10, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, March 11, 2017 Friday, April 21, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Friday, February 3, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Tuesday, November 15, 2016 Sunday, February 19, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, February 20, 2017 Sunday, February 26, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Monday, February 27, 2017 Friday, March 3, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, March 4, 2017 Friday, March 10, 2017
25% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, March 11, 2017 Friday, March 17, 2017

Download the Spring 2017 (10 Weeks) ICS File

Summer 2017

Summer 2017 (12 weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, May 29, 2017
Classes Tuesday, May 30, 2017 Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, June 12, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, June 13, 2017 Monday, July 10, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee

Download the Summer 2017 (12 weeks) ICS File

Summer 2017 (3 weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, May 29, 2017
Classes Tuesday, May 30, 2017 Monday, June 19, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, June 5, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, June 6, 2017 Monday, June 12, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee

Download the Summer 2017 (3 weeks) ICS File

Summer 2017 (8 weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, June 12, 2017
Classes Tuesday, June 13, 2017 Tuesday, August 8, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, June 19, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, June 20, 2017 Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee

Download the Summer 2017 (8 weeks) ICS File

Summer 2017 (6 weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Tuesday, July 11, 2017
Classes Wednesday, July 12, 2017 Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Wednesday, July 19, 2017 Tuesday, August 8, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee

Download the Summer 2017 (6 weeks) ICS File

Glossary

Registration
During registration, you are able to self-register through your PRISM account. Talk to your academic advisor prior to enrolling in courses to determine what courses might best fit your needs and schedule. Registration closes at 9 PM on the dates listed above.

Classes

The time period you are expected to be actively participating in courses and regularly checking your student email account. 

“W”
If you drop a class prior to the without a “W” date, you will not see any record of the course on your official transcript with UW Colleges Online.  If you drop after the without a “W” date but before the with a “W” date, you will see the course listed on your official transcript with a “W” indicating you withdrew from the course. 



UW Colleges Online

34 Schroeder Court, Suite 200

Madison, WI 53711