Academic Calendar

Make sure to note these key dates before you begin your semester. Please note that UW Colleges Online runs ten academic sessions throughout the calendar year in three, seven, eight, or sixteen week terms. Pay close attention to the dates that apply to your course(s). For the full catalog of course options, visit Courses.

Summer 2017

Summer 2017 (12 weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, May 29, 2017
Classes Tuesday, May 30, 2017 Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, June 12, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, June 13, 2017 Monday, July 10, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, May 22, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Tuesday, May 23, 2017 Monday, May 29, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, May 30, 2017 Monday, June 12, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, June 13, 2017 Monday, June 26, 2017

Download the Summer 2017 (12 weeks) ICS File

Summer 2017 (3 weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, May 29, 2017
Classes Tuesday, May 30, 2017 Monday, June 19, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, June 5, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, June 6, 2017 Monday, June 12, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, May 22, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Tuesday, May 23, 2017 Monday, May 29, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, May 30, 2017 Monday, June 5, 2017
25% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, June 6, 2017 Monday, June 12, 2017

Download the Summer 2017 (3 weeks) ICS File

Summer 2017 (8 weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, June 12, 2017
Classes Tuesday, June 13, 2017 Tuesday, August 8, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, June 19, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, June 20, 2017 Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Tuesday, June 13, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Monday, June 5, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Tuesday, June 6, 2017 Monday, June 12, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, June 13, 2017 Monday, June 19, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, June 20, 2017 Monday, June 26, 2017
25% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, June 27, 2017 Monday, July 3, 2017

Download the Summer 2017 (8 weeks) ICS File

Summer 2017 (6 weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Tuesday, July 11, 2017
Classes Wednesday, July 12, 2017 Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Wednesday, July 19, 2017 Tuesday, August 8, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Wednesday, July 12, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Tuesday, July 4, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Wednesday, July 5, 2017 Tuesday, July 11, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Wednesday, July 12, 2017 Tuesday, July 18, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Wednesday, July 19, 2017 Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Download the Summer 2017 (6 weeks) ICS File

Fall 2017 Semester

Fall 2017 (16 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Monday, April 10, 2017 Monday, September 4, 2017
Classes Tuesday, September 5, 2017 Friday, December 22, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Monday, April 10, 2017 Monday, September 18, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, September 19, 2017 Monday, November 13, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Monday, September 18, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Monday, April 10, 2017 Monday, August 28, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Tuesday, August 29, 2017 Monday, September 4, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 Monday, September 18, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 Monday, October 2, 2017

Download the Fall 2017 (16 Weeks) ICS File

Fall 2017 (8 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Monday, April 10, 2017 Monday, September 4, 2017
Classes Tuesday, September 5, 2017 Friday, October 27, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Monday, April 10, 2017 Monday, September 11, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, September 12, 2017 Monday, October 9, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Monday, September 18, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Monday, April 10, 2017 Monday, August 28, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Tuesday, August 29, 2017 Monday, September 4, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 Monday, September 11, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, September 12, 2017 Monday, September 18, 2017
25% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 Monday, September 25, 2017

Download the Fall 2017 (8 Weeks) ICS File

Fall 2017 (7 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Monday, April 10, 2017 Sunday, October 29, 2017
Classes Monday, October 30, 2017 Friday, December 15, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Monday, April 10, 2017 Friday, November 3, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, November 4, 2017 Friday, December 1, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Monday, September 18, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Monday, April 10, 2017 Sunday, October 22, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, October 23, 2017 Sunday, October 29, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Monday, October 30, 2017 Friday, November 3, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, November 4, 2017 Friday, November 10, 2017

Download the Fall 2017 (7 Weeks) ICS File

Fall 2017 (10 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Monday, April 10, 2017 Sunday, October 8, 2017
Classes Monday, October 9, 2017 Friday, December 15, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Monday, April 10, 2017 Friday, October 20, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, October 21, 2017 Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Monday, September 18, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Monday, April 10, 2017 Sunday, October 1, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, October 2, 2017 Sunday, October 8, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Monday, October 9, 2017 Friday, October 13, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, October 14, 2017 Friday, October 20, 2017
25% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, October 21, 2017 Friday, October 27, 2017

Download the Fall 2017 (10 Weeks) ICS File

Glossary

Registration
During registration, you are able to self-register through your PRISM account. Talk to your academic advisor prior to enrolling in courses to determine what courses might best fit your needs and schedule. Registration closes at 9 PM on the dates listed above.

Classes

The time period you are expected to be actively participating in courses and regularly checking your student email account. 

“W”
If you drop a class prior to the without a “W” date, you will not see any record of the course on your official transcript with UW Colleges Online.  If you drop after the without a “W” date but before the with a “W” date, you will see the course listed on your official transcript with a “W” indicating you withdrew from the course. 



UW Colleges Online

34 Schroeder Court, Suite 200

Madison, WI 53711