Academic Calendar

Make sure to note these key dates before you begin your semester. Please note that UW Colleges Online runs ten academic sessions throughout the calendar year in three, seven, eight, or sixteen week terms. Pay close attention to the dates that apply to your course(s). For the full catalog of course options, visit Courses.

Refund Schedule | University of Wisconsin Colleges

Add/Drop Calendar | University of Wisconsin Colleges

Fall 2018

Fall 2018 (16 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Monday, September 3, 2018
Classes Tuesday, September 4, 2018 Friday, December 21, 2018
Drop Class without a "W" Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Monday, September 17, 2018
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, September 18, 2018 Monday, November 12, 2018
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Monday, September 17, 2018
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Monday, August 27, 2018
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Tuesday, August 28, 2018 Monday, September 3, 2018
Full Tuition Refund
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 Monday, September 17, 2018
50% Tuition Refund Tuesday, September 18, 2018 Monday, October 1, 2018

Download the Fall 2018 (16 Weeks) ICS File

Fall 2018 (10 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Sunday, October 7, 2018
Classes Monday, October 8, 2018 Friday, December 14, 2018
Drop Class without a "W" Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Friday, October 19, 2018
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, October 20, 2018 Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Monday, September 17, 2018
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Sunday, September 30, 2018
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, October 1, 2018 Sunday, October 7, 2018
Full Tuition Refund
Monday, October 8, 2018 Friday, October 12, 2018
50% Tuition Refund Saturday, October 13, 2018 Friday, October 19, 2018
25% Tuition Refund Saturday, October 20, 2018 Friday, October 26, 2018

Download the Fall 2018 (10 Weeks) ICS File

Fall 2018 (7 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Monday, September 17, 2018 Sunday, October 28, 2018
Classes Monday, October 29, 2018 Friday, December 14, 2018
Drop Class without a "W" Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Friday, November 2, 2018
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, November 3, 2018 Friday, November 30, 2018
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Sunday, October 21, 2018
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, October 22, 2018 Sunday, October 28, 2018
Full Tuition Refund
Monday, October 29, 2018 Friday, November 2, 2018
50% Tuition Refund Saturday, November 3, 2018 Friday, November 9, 2018

Download the Fall 2018 (7 Weeks) ICS File

Fall 2018 (8 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Monday, September 3, 2018
Classes Tuesday, September 4, 2018 Friday, October 26, 2018
Drop Class without a "W" Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Monday, September 10, 2018
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, September 11, 2018 Monday, October 8, 2018
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Monday, September 17, 2018
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Monday, August 27, 2018
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Tuesday, August 28, 2018 Monday, September 3, 2018
Full Tuition Refund
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 Monday, September 10, 2018
50% Tuition Refund Tuesday, September 11, 2018 Monday, September 17, 2018
25% Tuition Refund Tuesday, September 18, 2018 Monday, September 24, 2018

Download the Fall 2018 (8 Weeks) ICS File

Winterim 2019

Winterim 2019
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Monday, October 1, 2018 Thursday, January 3, 2019
Classes Friday, January 4, 2019 Friday, January 25, 2019
Drop Class without a "W" Monday, October 1, 2018 Thursday, January 10, 2019
Drop Class with a "W" Friday, January 11, 2019 Thursday, January 17, 2019
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Friday, January 4, 2019
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Monday, October 1, 2018 Thursday, December 27, 2018
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Friday, December 28, 2018 Thursday, January 3, 2019
Full Tuition Refund
Friday, January 4, 2019 Thursday, January 10, 2019
25% Tuition Refund Friday, January 11, 2019 Thursday, January 17, 2019

Download the Winterim 2019 ICS File

Spring 2019

Spring 2019 (16 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Sunday, January 27, 2019
Classes Monday, January 28, 2019 Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Friday, February 8, 2019
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, February 9, 2019 Friday, April 12, 2019
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Friday, February 8, 2019
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Sunday, January 20, 2019
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, January 21, 2019 Sunday, January 27, 2019
Full Tuition Refund
Monday, January 28, 2019 Friday, February 8, 2019
50% Tuition Refund Saturday, February 9, 2019 Friday, February 22, 2019

Download the Spring 2019 (16 Weeks) ICS File

Spring 2019 (10 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Thursday, February 28, 2019
Classes Friday, March 1, 2019 Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Thursday, March 14, 2019
Drop Class with a "W" Friday, March 15, 2019 Monday, March 25, 2019
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Friday, February 8, 2019
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Thursday, February 21, 2019
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Friday, February 22, 2019 Thursday, February 28, 2019
Full Tuition Refund
Friday, March 1, 2019 Thursday, March 7, 2019
50% Tuition Refund Friday, March 8, 2019 Thursday, March 14, 2019
25% Tuition Refund Friday, March 15, 2019 Thursday, March 21, 2019

Download the Spring 2019 (10 Weeks) ICS File

Spring 2019 (7 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Thursday, March 21, 2019
Classes Friday, March 22, 2019 Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Thursday, April 4, 2019
Drop Class with a "W" Friday, April 5, 2019 Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Friday, February 8, 2019
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Thursday, March 14, 2019
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Friday, March 15, 2019 Thursday, March 21, 2019
Full Tuition Refund
Friday, March 22, 2019 Thursday, April 4, 2019
50% Tuition Refund Friday, April 5, 2019 Thursday, April 11, 2019

Download the Spring 2019 (7 Weeks) ICS File

Glossary

Registration
During registration, you are able to self-register through your PRISM account. Talk to your academic advisor prior to enrolling in courses to determine what courses might best fit your needs and schedule. Registration closes at 9 PM on the dates listed above.

Classes

The time period you are expected to be actively participating in courses and regularly checking your student email account. 

“W”
If you drop a class prior to the without a “W” date, you will not see any record of the course on your official transcript with UW Colleges Online.  If you drop after the without a “W” date but before the with a “W” date, you will see the course listed on your official transcript with a “W” indicating you withdrew from the course. 



UW Colleges Online

34 Schroeder Court, Suite 200

Madison, WI 53711