Academic Calendar

Make sure to note these key dates before you begin your semester. Please note that UW Colleges Online runs ten academic sessions throughout the calendar year in three, seven, eight, or sixteen week terms. Pay close attention to the dates that apply to your course(s). For the full catalog of course options, visit Courses.

Fall 2017 Semester

Fall 2017 (16 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Monday, April 10, 2017 Monday, September 4, 2017
Classes Tuesday, September 5, 2017 Friday, December 22, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Monday, April 10, 2017 Monday, September 18, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, September 19, 2017 Monday, November 13, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Monday, September 18, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Monday, April 10, 2017 Monday, August 28, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Tuesday, August 29, 2017 Monday, September 4, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 Monday, September 18, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 Monday, October 2, 2017

Download the Fall 2017 (16 Weeks) ICS File

Fall 2017 (8 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Monday, April 10, 2017 Monday, September 4, 2017
Classes Tuesday, September 5, 2017 Friday, October 27, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Monday, April 10, 2017 Monday, September 11, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, September 12, 2017 Monday, October 9, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Monday, September 18, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Monday, April 10, 2017 Monday, August 28, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Tuesday, August 29, 2017 Monday, September 4, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 Monday, September 11, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, September 12, 2017 Monday, September 18, 2017
25% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 Monday, September 25, 2017

Download the Fall 2017 (8 Weeks) ICS File

Fall 2017 (7 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Monday, April 10, 2017 Sunday, October 29, 2017
Classes Monday, October 30, 2017 Friday, December 15, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Monday, April 10, 2017 Friday, November 3, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, November 4, 2017 Friday, December 1, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Monday, September 18, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Monday, April 10, 2017 Sunday, October 22, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, October 23, 2017 Sunday, October 29, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Monday, October 30, 2017 Friday, November 3, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, November 4, 2017 Friday, November 10, 2017

Download the Fall 2017 (7 Weeks) ICS File

Fall 2017 (10 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Monday, April 10, 2017 Sunday, October 8, 2017
Classes Monday, October 9, 2017 Friday, December 15, 2017
Drop Class without a "W" Monday, April 10, 2017 Friday, October 20, 2017
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, October 21, 2017 Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Monday, September 18, 2017
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Monday, April 10, 2017 Sunday, October 1, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, October 2, 2017 Sunday, October 8, 2017
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Monday, October 9, 2017 Friday, October 13, 2017
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, October 14, 2017 Friday, October 20, 2017
25% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, October 21, 2017 Friday, October 27, 2017

Download the Fall 2017 (10 Weeks) ICS File

Winterim 2018

Winterim 2018
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Monday, October 2, 2017 Monday, January 1, 2018
Classes Tuesday, January 2, 2018 Friday, January 19, 2018
Drop Class without a "W" Monday, October 2, 2017 Monday, January 8, 2018
Drop Class with a "W" Tuesday, January 9, 2018 Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Tuesday, January 2, 2018
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Monday, October 2, 2017 Monday, December 25, 2017
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Tuesday, December 26, 2017 Monday, January 1, 2018

Download the Winterim 2018 ICS File

Spring 2018

Spring 2018 (16 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Sunday, January 21, 2018
Classes Monday, January 22, 2018 Monday, May 21, 2018
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Friday, February 2, 2018
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, February 3, 2018 Friday, April 6, 2018
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Friday, February 2, 2018
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Sunday, January 14, 2018
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, January 15, 2018 Sunday, January 21, 2018
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Monday, January 22, 2018 Friday, February 2, 2018
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, February 3, 2018 Friday, February 16, 2018

Download the Spring 2018 (16 Weeks) ICS File

Spring 2018 (10 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Sunday, February 25, 2018
Classes Monday, February 26, 2018 Friday, May 11, 2018
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Friday, March 9, 2018
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, March 10, 2018 Friday, April 20, 2018
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Friday, February 2, 2018
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Sunday, February 18, 2018
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, February 19, 2018 Sunday, February 25, 2018
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Monday, February 26, 2018 Friday, March 2, 2018
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, March 3, 2018 Friday, March 9, 2018
25% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, March 10, 2018 Friday, March 16, 2018

Download the Spring 2018 (10 Weeks) ICS File

Spring 2018 (8 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Sunday, January 21, 2018
Classes Monday, January 22, 2018 Friday, March 16, 2018
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Friday, January 26, 2018
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, January 27, 2018 Friday, February 23, 2018
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Friday, February 2, 2018
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Sunday, January 14, 2018
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, January 15, 2018 Sunday, January 21, 2018
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Monday, January 22, 2018 Friday, January 26, 2018
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, January 27, 2018 Friday, February 2, 2018
25% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, February 3, 2018 Friday, February 9, 2018

Download the Spring 2018 (8 Weeks) ICS File

Spring 2018 (7 Weeks)
Academic Dates
  Starts Ends
Registration Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Sunday, March 25, 2018
Classes Monday, March 26, 2018 Friday, May 11, 2018
Drop Class without a "W" Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Friday, March 30, 2018
Drop Class with a "W" Saturday, March 31, 2018 Friday, April 27, 2018
Tuition Dates
  Starts Ends
Tuition Due Date - Friday, February 2, 2018
Full Tuition and Course Fee Refund Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Sunday, March 18, 2018
Full Tuition and 50% Course Fee Refund Monday, March 19, 2018 Sunday, March 25, 2018
Full Tuition Refund
Minus course fees and a $50 administrative withdrawal fee
Monday, March 26, 2018 Friday, March 30, 2018
50% Tuition Refund
Minus course fees
Saturday, March 31, 2018 Friday, April 6, 2018

Download the Spring 2018 (7 Weeks) ICS File

Glossary

Registration
During registration, you are able to self-register through your PRISM account. Talk to your academic advisor prior to enrolling in courses to determine what courses might best fit your needs and schedule. Registration closes at 9 PM on the dates listed above.

Classes

The time period you are expected to be actively participating in courses and regularly checking your student email account. 

“W”
If you drop a class prior to the without a “W” date, you will not see any record of the course on your official transcript with UW Colleges Online.  If you drop after the without a “W” date but before the with a “W” date, you will see the course listed on your official transcript with a “W” indicating you withdrew from the course. 



UW Colleges Online

34 Schroeder Court, Suite 200

Madison, WI 53711